1. Characteristics

Uranus is the seventh closest planet to the Sun and, unlike the first six planets, it was not discovered until the invention of the telescope. Uranus was discovered by German-British astronomer William Herschel in 1781.

Uranus is the third largest planet in the Solar System, after Jupiter and Saturn. It is larger than Neptune but less massive. It takes over 30,000 days for Uranus to orbit the Sun, this is over 80 years, and one day on Uranus is just over 17 hours long.

Photograph of Uranus

Uranus, image taken by the Hubble Space Telescope. Image credit: NASA, ESA, and M. Showalter.

Unlike Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, and Saturn, Uranus was not named after a Roman God. It is instead named after the Ancient Greek god of the sky, the father of the Greek God Kronos, which corresponds to the Roman God Saturn, and the grandfather of Zeus, known to the Roman's as Jupiter.

Uranus is an ice giant, with an atmosphere primarily composed of hydrogen and helium, but it also contains trace amounts of hydrocarbons, and large amounts of frozen water, ammonia, and methane.

Uranus has the coldest planetary atmosphere in the Solar System and can reach over -200 °C. The core is composed of ice and rock. Uranus has a magnetosphere, but the whole planet is tilted on its side so that its magnetic poles are at the equator.

Planets in the Solar system, sizes are approximately to scale. Jupiter is the largest planet, followed by Saturn.

The planets, sizes approximately to scale. Image credit: Lunar and Planetary Institute.

Diagram of Earth and the four outer planets, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune. The composition is shown.

The four outer planets to scale. Image credit: Lunar and Planetary Institute.

2. Moons

2.1 Miranda, Ariel, Umbriel, Titania, and Oberon

Uranus has a ring system similar to Saturn's, except that it did not form when the planet did, and orbits at an angle of nearly 90°.

Uranus has almost 30 moons, the five largest are Miranda, Ariel, Umbriel, Titania, and Oberon. The largest of these is Titania, which is about half the diameter of the Moon.

Uranus' moons are mostly composed of frozen water, ammonia, and carbon dioxide, as well as silicate rock.

Photographs of Uranus’ moons, where the size is to scale.

Uranus' five largest moons, images from Voyager 2 (to scale). Image credit: NASA/JPL.

3. Missions to Uranus

NASA's Voyager 2 came within 80,000 km of Uranus in 1986, travelling past its five largest moons, and discovering 10 new ones. The Cassini spacecraft may pass Uranus about 20 years after it leaves Saturn.

Space & Time




Force & Energy


Newton's theory of Gravity

Age of the Universe

Special Relativity

General Relativity

Big Bang



Red Giants & White Dwarfs

Neutron Stars & Black Holes






Asteroid Belt





Kuiper Belt & Oort Cloud

Pioneer & Voyager


RSS Feed

Blog | Science | Timeline | Images | About | Copyright | Privacy | Comments